FUMC of Escondido was founded in 1886 as the Methodist Episcopal Church. Our first church building was located on the corner of Grand Avenue and Ivy Street in Escondido. By 1921, the congregation had outgrown its original building and decided to move the church to its present site on the corner of Kalmia and Fourth Streets. The building that now stands was dedicated in 1965.
In 1972, after the national merger of the Methodist Church with the United Brethren Church, we became the First United Methodist Church of Escondido.
The United Methodist Church was formed in 1968, but it has had more than two centuries of organization in the United States and around the world. John Wesley, who is credited with founding the denomination, and other early Methodists were particularly concerned about inviting people to experience God’s grace and to grow in their knowledge and love of God through disciplined Christian living. They placed primary emphasis on Christian living, on putting faith and love into action. This emphasis on what Wesley referred to as “practical divinity” has continued to be a hallmark of United Methodism today.
As United Methodists, we have an obligation to bear a faithful Christian witness to Jesus Christ, the living reality at the center of the Church’s life and witness. To fulfill this obligation, we reflect critically on our biblical and theological inheritance, striving to express faithfully the witness we make in our own time.